Installing ECMWF’s GRIB-API for Python on Mac OS

I just upgraded my MacPorts to Mac OS Sierra and expected some problems. First I followed the instructions on migrating. Then I uninstalled all ports and started installing the ones I needed as I went along. The ECMWF’s GRIB-API package is one of them.

When installing through MacPorts, and if you need Python bindings, you must run:

sudo port install grib_api +python27

Otherwise, you won’t be able to do this:

from gribapi import *

But I still had a problem, as I got the following error message:

ImportError: No module named _gribapi_swig

Aha, I though, because I remembered that I had to hack this. What it needs is a .so file, a shared object. Ok, so I went into the directory that holds the Python bindings files. In my case that was:

/opt/local/lib/python2.7/site-packages/gribapi

Now I just needed to create a symbolic link:

sudo ln -s _gribapi_swig.dylib  _gribapi_swig.so

And everything was good to go.

Leave a Reply

